A Simple Guide to Understand the Basics of Pearls


Pearl is the symbol of virtue and purity. It is the most sought after natural gem. If you are interested in buying original pearls you should educate yourselves on the basics of pearls.

Types of pearls

1. South sea pearls

 They are from the oysters called Pinctada maxima, a species found only in the south sea. They are the largest among pearls because Pinctada maxima are huge oysters that can nucleate huge pearls of size ranging from 10 mm to 20 mm. They are expensive because of their rarity. The common colours of south sea pearls are silver and gold.

2. Akoya pearls

They are available from oysters called Pinctada imbricate and Pinctada fucata. They are the cultured pearls from China and Japan. Japanese Akoya pearls are of better quality than the Chinese ones and are more lustrous. The bigger the size of the pearl, the more is the price. They are white or cream in colour with blue, pink and yellow hues.

3. Freshwater pearls

As the name suggests, they are grown in freshwater. They are cheaper than saltwater pearls but lack the lustre and roundness of saltwater pearls.

4. Tahitian pearls

They are cultured pearls from the farms of Polynesian ocean. They are from an oyster called Pinctada margaritifera. They are black lipped oysters and hence, produce black pearls. Their size ranges from 8 mm to 25 mm.

5. Keshi pearls

They are very unusual because they are accidentally formed from a previously cultured oyster. They are not round in shape and come in a variety of colours and sizes.

When you buy pearls, you should look for lustre, size and originality. Look for pearls of similar size and shape, if you want to use them in jewellery. If you want to buy the best you should visit http://www.pearlsonly.com/, the best place for the real pearls.